7 emirates of the United Arab Emirates

7 emirates of the United Arab Emirates

The UAE (United Arab Emirates) consists of 7 emirates. Abu Dhabi is the capital of the UAE. But also the complete emirate is called Abu Dhabi. It is followed by Dubai, Sharjah, Ajman, Umm Al Qaiwain, Ras Al Khaimah and Fujairah.

Abu Dhabi is by far the largest emirate with a total area of about 68000 square kilometers. For comparison, Dubai (emirate and city) is by area the second largest emirate within the UAE, with a total area of about 4100 square kilometers.

His Highness Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan (known as ‘Father of the Nation’ – 1918 – 2004) was the first president of the new state. The founding of the state took place on 02 December 1971. Six of the seven emirates (Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Sharjah, Ajman, Umm al Qaiwain and Fujairah) combined on this date. The seventh, Ras Al Khaimah, joined the federation on Februray 1972.


His Highness Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed Al Nahyan, the son of Sheikh Zayed, is the current president and ruler of the United Arab Emirates.


His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum is the Vice President and Prime Minister of the United Arab Emirates and ruler of the Emirate of Dubai.

Travel Guide Dubai

Dubai Travel Guide